Applying To Medical School with Medical Condition?

Hi there,

I am a non traditional student who decided to tailor my career path and go the medical route (previously I was planning on doing research/PhD grad school route). I felt that medicine is one field that will allow me to put all of my passions, talents, and interests into practice. I have all my class pre-reqs, somewhat decent GPA (3.69), and few years of research under my belt (one first author and few co-author papers). I got my CNA last fall and currently volunteering at community clinic as well as ER department at one of the hospitals, while working full time in clinical research with patient exposure. I’m looking to start shadowing as well as potentially picking up PRN CNA or Scribe position to get even more patient exposure. Even though I struggled a bit between choosing MD vs PA-C route, I felt that MD route will provide me with more opportunities and doors to practice medicine on global health scale.