HPSP with a family

Hi everyone! First post for me, so I’ll try and make it quick.

I’m a active duty AF officer applying to med school this cycle. I’ve been in the AF for nine years as a pilot and have a wife with three kiddos. I’ve already been released from my career field, just applied to USUHS and will automatically qualify for HPSP with my undergraduate GPA and MCAT scores. My wife is supportive with me going to medical school but not really on board with HPSP and the finical toll that it will have on my family (family of 5 living on 30K a year).

What I was wondering is if anyone has had experience, or knows of anyone who has, going through med school on HPSP scholarship with a family and if they were able to secure additional loans for living expenses? After discussions with several med school finical advisors, it seemed that it would be difficult getting additional finical support or student loans if you already are on HPSP. Appreciate any advice. Thanks for the help!

Answered on the podcast!

I was an AF pilot for 11 before going to school on HPSP in what evolved into a family of 4. Between the stipend, GI Bill, savings, and some rental income, we were able to live comfortably in a small-ish house in a mid-sized city. Location will have a big influence on how far you can stretch the cash. When you separate, you can use the end of service move to get you to your medical school, which saves some. You’ll also get the HPSP signing bonus. My buddy with a family of 5 (army pilot) is doing something similar. His kids qualify for medicaid because of his income status.