I feel so old!!!!!!

I started my Chemistry 211 class this past Monday and I have not taken Chem since 2000. I feel like a old woman surrounded by all of these other students. I have always been among the youngest throughout my educational career, so this is an entirely new experience.

Our professor said something about, “I know you all aren’t old enough to remember, but I remember when email first became big.” I snickered because I totally remember.

My lab partner told me that she has not taken Chemistry for a long time. I asked her how long and she said, “Well I graduated high school in 2013, so I think about four years.” I just laughed and she looked a little worried when I told her that I had not taken it since 2000.

I went to go get a parking tag and the lady in Parking said, “Faculty?” I smiled and said, “Student.” :lol:

These are just a couple of examples over the last five days. Does this awkwardness ever go away? I know it’s more my issue than anything else.

It eventually does. But the best part is you do not care about the drama that goes on with the younger students.

I’ve been faculty at a college…but also ran into the confusion about being faculty vs a student in medical school. lol

Being old means nothing.

Everybody if they live long enough gets old.

Follow your aspirations and don’t worry about your age. You can be old and a doctor or you can just be old and wondered what would have happened if you went to medical school.

Good luck.

Thank you for your replies! I just finished my Chem lab class with an A and I am having my Chem lecture final tomorrow. As long as I don’t bomb the final, I will get an A in that class as well. I appreciate this forum!

Good job, Zudley!