Nursing major or pre-med?

Hi, I’m a freshman in college and I’ve been dealing with the “which major” problem since high school. I’m indecisive when it comes to choosing a major. I want to choose nursing not because it’s a shorter education route, but because I plan on having it as a backup plan if medical school doesn’t work out for me. Except, I wanna go to medical school but I have lots of self doubt about my ability (mentally and physically) to graduate from med school. I also consider having my major be pre-med because I know if I don’t get my pre-reqs done at the end of four years, I’ll have to go back for another 2 1/2 years of college to complete those pre-reqs before even applying to med school.

Any advice?

Hey Ferndama
I had this same question (sort of) posted on the nontrad forum. If you look at my profile and question posted you’ll see a topic “how did you choose?” which essentially asked the same question. Dr. Gray answered it in Session 113 of the OldPremed podcast, go listen to it!