Sanity Check Needed

Hello Everyone! First time poster, recent binge listener, looking for a sanity check because I have almost convinced myself to take the plunge and start attending school again full time.

A little about me, I am 30 years old and have been in the Marine Corps for about 8 years and am currently a Captain. I graduated in 2009 with a degree in Criminology from a state college with a 2.7 cumulative undergrad GPA. I only took a few science and math courses, but that GPA is 3.65 (I did the math and if I get all A’s in my prereq courses it will be a 3.89). I also have a negative trend GPA during my undergrad years with my freshman and sophomore years being my best. Grades were not a priority for me at the time and I did not have any aspirations of doing any post-graduate work. I knew I was going to join the Marine Corps after my junior year (always was going to join the military) so my senior year grades went out the window.

Fast forward 8 years from my undergrad and I just finished a master’s program at Marshall University where I got a M.A. in Leadership Studies. Some credits from a year-long military school were applied to the program, but I took six classes and finished the program with a 4.0 GPA (I realize that this program does not carry much weight). I have also taken some prerequisites at a local community college and have received A’s in Gen Bio 1/2 and Gen Chem 1. I definitely had the ability to earn these grades the first time around, but lacked the motivation and passion.

My end goal is to get accepted into the Uniformed Services University or receive a HPSP scholarship. I would like to retire from the military. I can discuss why I am interested in switching careers in another post if anyone is interested, but had a very inspirational medical situation happen to me a few years ago that completely changed my life.

From here I see a few paths that I could take and would appreciate some honest feedback.